The Quiet Man Museum and walking tour of The Quiet Man film locations
Circular Road, Cong, Co Mayo, F31TF64
The Quiet Man Film Locations Walking Tour is a must for fans of the John Wayne classic, The Quiet Man. The guided tour brings visitors to the original film locations including Innisfree, Castletown, the Pat Cohan’s Bar, the Dying Man’s House, the Reverend Playfair’s House, the fight scenes, the courting scenes and the “patty fingers in the holy water” scenes.
Visitors hear: what happened when Hollywood invaded the sleepy village of Cong in 1951; what the film stars were like; how they interacted with the locals; and how the locals became intimately involved in the making of the movie.
The tour includes entrance to The Quiet Man Museum, which offers an on-set experience of the White O’Morn cottage. The Museum also houses original artifacts from the movie including the fishing rod used by Father Lonergan and Michaeleen Og’s horse Napoleon’s harness.
Visitors can dress up in costume for photos and re-enactments. A great interactive experience full of good old Irish craic.
The walking tour and museum entry last approximately 1 hour. The tour consists of a short, easy stroll around the village of Cong with stops every few minutes at the movie locations. The tour and museum are wheelchair and mobility scooter accessible.
Cong is a beautiful inland island village dating back to the 7th Century, on the borders of Counties Mayo and Galway in the Joyce Country & Western Lakes Geopark. Cong was the only village that featured on TripAdvisor’s top 10 Irish destinations in 2018 & 2019 and is one of Mayo’s hidden gems.
Walking Tour of the film locations & museum entry: €15 per person
Museum entry only: €5.50
Group Discount available.
– Gift Shop
– Adjacent to the Public Toilets
– Coach Parking nearby