Pearse Museum and St. Enda’s Park
Grange Road, Rathfarnham, Co. Dublin, D16 Y7Y5.
Former home and school of Patrick Pearse, leader of the famous 1916 Rising.
The Pearse Museum is located in the former home and school of Patrick Pearse. Pearse was the leader of the 1916 Rising, and he, and his brother William, were among those executed for their part in the rebellion. The Pearse Museum tells the story of their role in that dramatic event, as well as Pearse’s work as a writer, teacher and Irish language campaigner.
The Museum exhibition tells the story of Pearse’s life and includes unique items such as the handwritten manuscript of his famous O’Donovan Rossa speech. Visitors can stroll around historic rooms, including Pearse’s study where he did much of his writing, a school dormitory, study hall and chapel.
The school art gallery contains original artworks by Beatrice Elvery, Patrick Tuohy and Jack B. Yeats. A separate gallery is devoted to the sculptural work of Pearse’s brother William. The courtyard at the rear of the Museum houses a recreation of an original school classroom as well as a Nature Room where visitors can learn about Ireland’s flora and fauna.
Admission Rates: Free (it is advisable to book your visit by calling us at 01 493 4208 or emailing the museum at email@example.com).
The house opening arrangements are as follows:
Nov – Jan: 9.30am – 4pm.
February: 9.30am – 5pm.
March – October: 9.30am – 5.30pm.
All year Sunday and BH open from 10am.
Nov – Jan: 9am – 4.30pm.
February: 9am – 5.30pm.
March & Oct: 9am – 6pm.
April & Sept: 9am – 8pm.
May – August: 9am – 9pm.
– Car and Coach parking on site.
– Accessible building with lift and accessible bathrooms.
– 50 acres of parklands.
Open 7 days a week.
– Group Bookings must be made in advance:
T. 00353 (1) 4939061.